At The “Hub” – Mozzo Centrale, Umm Suqeim

Mozzo Centrale, meaning “central hub”, is a restaurant aiming to offer an Italian culinary affair for its guests. I recently came to know of this place when an invite popped into my inbox. It’s perfectly located at Umm Suqeim, an area that is fast becoming popular for its restaurants.

Pictured here is a #saltedcaramel #milkshake from @mozzocentrale Find the review now up #ontheblog Head to the #link in bio ๐Ÿ˜Š

A post shared by Sarah | Hungryoungwoman (@hungryoungwoman) on

The location is not to hard to get to, but Google Maps might help for the confused ones like me ๐Ÿ˜‰

IMG_8283

Walking in, we were surprised to see that the place was empty. The ambiance felt too forced and I had a hard time settling in to enjoy the food. I think this was due to the chairs that were the opposite of comfortable.

We started with some Spicy Chicken Strips (AED 39) and Baked Tagliolini with ham (AED 39) as starters. The chicken strips were crispy from the outside and paired with the jalapeno dip served, it was a match made in heaven! Unfortunately, the same couldn’t be said for the other dish as it was found to be quite bland. Maybe it was the Chef’s bad day as the sauce and ham went very well but a little more flavour could do wonders.

Sadly, the next course had many flaws that I could point out and in short, I felt like I was just gaining empty calories. We ordered a Mushroom Risotto (AED 59), Cuban Mojo Seabass (AED 84) and upon asking the server for recommendations, we were asked to try the “Chicken Tikka Pizza” (yes, that’s why I’ve come to an Italian restaurant)

IMG_8274

The risotto was very very bland and I had no option but to stop eating it immediately after I have taken the first bite. The sea bass wasn’t really soft and I could find no flavour of the mango dressing, something I expected would stand out in the dish.

Thankfully, the Chicken Tikka Pizza saved us. Jalapenos, curried chicken on a crispy base, better than the other dishes.

Since it was quite late, we couldn’t try the popular Tiramisu, therefore, we had to settle in for the Angel Berry Trifle (AED 30) and Nutella Calzone (AED 36). The former dessert was found a bit dry due to thick pieces of the sponge cake. A little extra whipped cream would have been better. As for the calzone, if you like Nutella, you will love this!

IMG_8294

If I come back: I’ve heard a lot about their breakfast options and that they serve them till 6 PM. I would probably be coming back for that if I do. The Spicy Chicken Strips and Nutella Calzone are worth another try too!

Don't you #wish every #morning started like this? My cup of #happiness โ˜•๏ธ

A post shared by Sarah | Hungryoungwoman (@hungryoungwoman) on

Have you visited Mozzo Centrale? What do you think about their food options?

Until then, happy eating! xx
Mozzo Centrale Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

