Jack of All, Master of None – Lakeview

Winter is finally here. I can finally rejoice the chilly mornings and warm nights in with coffee. It is also the time of the year when restaurants find most of their guests seated outdoors.

Which is why I was looking forward to my dinner at Lakeview where I was invited to try their international buffet starting from 7 PM.

Lakeview boasts an alfresco dining area with a stunning view of the creek. Placed outside is also a buffet section with live stations featuring a variety of cuisines.

We ordered our drinks and headed to the buffet. Walking through the area, I could see a salad bar, some live grills, and a mixture of Indian and Arabic food. They also had a live station for pasta, fried rice and Peking duck. And finally, the dessert counter.

DSCN4417DSCN4418DSCN4420

DSCN4421

The starters included cold cuts, not in the mood for that, I served some salads for myself. I also checked out the mains which seemed quite mediocre. As I got back to my table, I noticed our drinks still weren’t served. And this was after good 20-25 minutes. Even asking a waiter for water proved difficult as they behaved like they were wearing blinkers.

DSCN4422DSCN4423DSCN4424

The live grill served kebabs, grilled prawns and some meat. This was quite good compared to the main course, so good that I kept going back for more. We also asked for a Pasta Alfredo and fried rice. While the pasta was too bland, the latter dish made up for it. The Peking Duck rolls with the suggested sauce were good too.

After a while, I noticed some cats next to our table that wouldn’t budge. Since calling a server was not an option (read above), we tried to shoo them away ourselves. Now, I’m all about being nice to animals and am a cat lover myself. But, cats roaming around in this area was quite shocking to see. Our server finally turned up and tried to get them away. “These are the pets of the people from the residence area” was the answer. Apparently, these cats just show up at people’s tables while they’re dining. No comments on this.

DSCN4425

The dumplings were just the worst I’ve had honestly. I don’t even think they were properly steamed as the covering was raw in some places.

DSCN4428DSCN4429DSCN4426DSCN4427

Next, heading to the dessert counter was something I was looking forward to. I really liked their chocolate brownies and cake. The fruit pudding was also quite good.

Overall, Lakeview serves a very average meal. I don’t know if it was just a bad day, or maybe they serve a different affair for other themes. Nevertheless, the live station and dessert counter stood out and provided some better memories of the experience.

Until next time…

LakeView Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

